Teams: Create a Personal Meeting Link

What is a personal meeting link?

A personal meeting link is a Teams meeting link that can be reused anytime for virtual office hours, drop-in sessions, or any other impromptu meeting in Teams (similar to a personal room in Zoom). 
 

Create and Share your personal meeting link:

  1. Open your Teams desktop app.
     
  2. Select the Calendar icon in the left rail.
     
  3. Click Meet Now at the top.
  • Give the meeting a name (or leave as default name)
  • Click Get a link to share.

arrows pointing to calendar button on the left, Meet now on the top-right, and "Get a link to share" button that appears under Meet now.
 

  1. Next, copy the meeting link to your clipboard. 
    Optionally: click Share via email to auto-create an email draft including the link.

    arrow pointing to the URL which appears under the meet now button

    To edit the meeting options at this time, see the directions in the FAQ section below.
     
  2. Paste the link to share it.
    Note: joining the meeting will require the meeting link. It will not create a calendar event.

You need to click the same link as your participants (or join from your bookmark of this link in the browser) because Meet Now creates a unique link every time.


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ):

You can set the meeting options before the meeting, by clicking Configure Meeting Options in Step 4 above.

"Configure Meeting options" link is available just above the meeting URL

Learn more about meeting options in the article: Teams meeting options 

If you need participants to enter one at a time, you can change the meeting options to make sure everyone waits in the lobby and Admit them one at a time.

  1. Go to the More actions ellipsis and click Meeting options. 

    meeting options is the third option down in the list
     
  2. Under Who can bypass the lobby? choose Only me, then click Save.

    "only me" highlighted in the options menu
     
  3. Now everyone will have to wait to be let in by you.
  • Participants who join as a Guest will only see the meeting chat when they are in your meeting - their names will be appended with (Guest).
     
  • Participants who are signed in (students or employees) will continue to see the chat conversation even after they leave the call.

To stop people from seeing the chat once they have left the meeting, they will need to leave the chat manually or be removed from the meeting chat by you.


Participant - leave meeting chat

  1. Select the Chat icon on the left rail.
     
  2. Locate the meeting in the list of chats, right click on it, and choose leave.

    "Chat" icon on the left rail

     

Organizer - remove former participant from meeting chat

* Recommended if chat privacy is a concern

  1. Select the Chat icon on the left rail.
     
  2. Select the meeting in your list of chats.
     
  3. Click the View and add participants icon in the upper right.
     
  4. Hovering over an participant's name, then click the 'x' that appears to remove them from the chat and meeting.

    participants list appears on the right of the screen. when i name is selected in the list, a small 'x' appears to the right of their name.

 

 

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 428
Created
Fri 8/7/20 9:38 AM
Modified
Wed 11/16/22 12:31 PM